Ever Seen a 2-Year-Old Run a Marathon?

I was just chatting on Facebook with my friend Tanya, as we discussed recent feelings of overwhelm. She just enjoyed a busy weekend with her kids and is gearing up for a new week filled with MANY things to get accomplished.

I mentioned my new projects and some long-term goals which I am trying to ‘get moving’ on. Most days I am taking on too much. I’ll admit it. 

My restless mind is filled with ideas, yet my tired body cannot seem to keep up lately.

As much as I hate to paraphrase cliches, my cart has already run over several horses in my haste to create results.

As we discussed this, I typed: “Have you ever seen a 2-year-old run a marathon?”.  She replied with the always enjoyable LOL response, then really thought about it.

How many of you have children, or have seen children as they take their first baby steps?  They start off all wobbly, almost getting it. Then comes the awkward shuffle and, quite often, smack-dab on their bottoms, protected by a triple-ply Huggies Air-Bag.

Why then, as adults, do we often expect to run 26.2 miles at full-speed when our dreams, goals, ideas and projects are in their infancy?

In my case, I am just beginning to learn the basics of working with non-profits and gathering corporate sponsors to provide copies of my books for their clients. Brendon Burchard is the expert in this field, and I love his approach.

Why, then, am I not focusing on the baby steps on involved, instead of trying to take off at a full sprint? After all, I am not going  to be protected by an airbag if I fall.

With this in mind, I am going to sketch out my plan, based upon his lessons.

Baby steps.

Make the plan. Find the right people. Take the time to reasearch the right non-profits. Find sponsors which make sense for the equations. When I can afford it (hopefully soon), I will attend Brendon’s training seminar.

I plan to start with a smaller deal first. Stand up. Find my balance. Set a rhythym. Develop my patterns. Repeat as necessary. Celebrate every mile marker. Run my own race, at my own pace, with my chosen running-mates and support team. Given time, I will cross that finish line!

Is there a race you would  like to be running, but are not sure where to begin?

Could you identify some baby steps to start with?

Chart your course, find your team, and start with your first wobbly steps. They will get smoother, with time, effort and knowledge.

See you at the finish line!

3 comments

  1. You just HAD to mention airbags, huh?? 🙂 Timely that I read this as I have two hugs bags of work that I brought home this weekend, after working almost 6 hours at the office on Saturday, and I expect myself to finish all the work by tonight. Granted, the bags contain project papers and notes from the past year. If I haven’t had the time to read through them and organize them over the past year, then why do I expect myself to get it done today? I’ll review the contents of the bags and see where I can make the most progress, the biggest dent, and put the rest in one bag and work on that later. Too overwhelming to expect too much of yourself all at once. Thanks 🙂

  2. I always say this, baby steps, but it is SO hard to do. Sometimes, I’ll work on drawing out my baby steps — post it notes, a flipchart (definitely w/colored markers!); or my newest approach is to talk it out. For verbal processors, it’s easier to either talk it outloud (but tape record your ideas!) or talk over with a colleague whom you trust and respect. This can be a regular accountability partner or just a one shot conversation. It is so hard to see the baby steps sometimes when you’re running full steam ahead. LOVE THE ANALOGY to the 2 year old!

  3. My plans and dreams have already been achieved. Now I watch my children as they make their plans and strive to make it happen. I have watched them stumble on occassion but they always get back up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

