Can I Be ‘REAL’ With You?

Do you know WHY you do what you do in life?

A friend recently asked me this. 

 In 1992, I was 24 years old, had earned a business degree (barely) and was stuck in the mess of my own uninspiring life. 

My friend Danny reminded me (repeatedly) that I had always wanted to be on the radio. I finally listened and attended broadcast school that Summer.

A month later I got my first job, and drove to this house to share the good news. Danny was very happy and proud.

Two weeks later, he died of cancer at age 23.

I went on to enjoy a successful decade in radio, have owned my DJ business for 16 years, been a stand-up comedian for 6 years, written 2 books and been a professional speaker for 5+ years…all because someone believed in me, before I could believe in myself…and I finally listened.

Is there someone in your life who believes in you, even when you don’t? 

Do they see greatness for you?  Listen to them. They see your potential.

Are you the believer in others?

Please do not allow them to give up on themselves.

Keep inspiring them!

2 comments

  1. Wow. That hit me like a ton of bricks!

    Steve – i so want to inspire people on a daily basis! I want to drive people to their success! I want them to understand that they live in a their own world of potential and they need to really fulfill it instead of get buried with it!

    When I read you post my gut hurt – like I should be doing more for myself, for people around me, and for the world in general!

    I’m searching for how to do that! Hopefully I can reach more people and also rely on those that see the potential in me.

    Why is it that so many people secretly wish that you fail? That’s a mystery isn’t it? What’s in it for them?

    G

Leave a Reply

