The (cheap) Shot Heard ‘Round the World!

According to TheFreeDictionary.com, a lightning rod is described as:

“One that attracts and absorbs powerful, typically negative feelings and reactions…”

In 1775, it was the start of the Revolutionary War at the Battle of Lexington and Concord.

In 2011, it was at the Stanley Cup Finals.

With 14:56 left to go in the first period of Game 3 in the Stanley Cup Finals, Vancouver Canuck’s player Aaron Rome won the ‘Lightning Rod’ award…when he decked Bruins player Nathan Horton.

In case you missed it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J8hf1HNmxv8&feature=related

This blog is not meant to agree or disagree with the league’s punishment…it’s all about lightning rods.

For me, this was THE BIG ONE!  

At that point, the Bruins were down 2 games to none, losing each by only one goal.

In Game 3 (Lightning Rod Night), the Bruins won 8 to 1.  In Game 4, they won 4 to 0.  Game 5 was another loss, by 1 goal. 

After Canuck’s goalie Luongo criticized Bruins goalie Tim Thomas prior to Game 6, Boston posted another lopsided victory of 5 to 2. (Lightning Rod Award: Second Place).

A lightning rod provided enough spark, fire and fury for one team to play so far above their previous level, that even the fiercest fans were seen saying “WOW!” in the stands.

Have YOU had a similar lightning rod in your life?  Or your business?

I have. While I may not have appreciated them in the moment, I do now.

I’ve had people try to derail me, personally and professionally.

My battle cry in those times turned to ‘I will make this endeavor successful, even if it kills me! I will not give up, and I will ALWAYS remember that lightning rod moment!”

What are YOUR lightning rod moments?

Has someone blindsided you with a hit designed to knock you off your game?

Did you get back up with victory’s fire in your eyes…and your heart?

Wherever you are in life, let your lightning rods serve as a reminder to always play like it’s Game 7.  If you lose, you’re done. If you win, you’re a legend.

Game on!  (go Bruins!!)

To learn more about Steve Gamlin’s speaking events, books, CD’s and more, please visit http://JigsawConsulting.org

3 comments

  1. I got hit with a lighting rod a couple of days ago…It always lights a fire so I have come to appreciate these moments. I know that with the determination (otherwise know and stubborness) I will end up better off than I was before! Thank you lightening rods and those who throw them!

  2. I got hit with a lighting rod a couple of days ago…It always lights a fire so I have come to appreciate these moments. I know that with the determination (otherwise known as stubborness) I will end up better off than I was before! Thank you lightening rods and those who throw them!

Leave a Reply

