“Wait a Minute…We Don’t Get PAID for This?!?”

These words formed the question I asked my sister, thirty years ago, after she ‘tricked’ me into volunteering for a local charity.

At the time, I hadn’t caught on to the rewards of giving. I was a good kid, never got into trouble. But I didn’t go out of my way to dip my toes into the world of free labor. I guess I just didn’t see how rich it could make my life.

You see, I lived from a scarcity mentality. The phrases “I don’t have time”, “I’m too busy”, “I have to make money” and “I don’t have enough to give” flowed freely from my lips for far too long.

Over the last five years, as I have grown my motivational speaking and writing career, I felt it necessary to walk my talk, and immersed myself in giving opportunities. Almost immediately, I saw what I’d been missing all these years.

I suddenly found my surrounded by the most amazing people I’d ever met. I discovered millionaires who claimed the best use of their time and money was in the non-profit world. I found busy professionals who converted their lunch hour to a mission spent delivering meals to the elderly. I met people who had very little money in the bank, who were rich beyond belief in the hearts when they shared their time.

And now, I share this message as a member of ‘the converted’: Giving ROCKS!

The biggest miracle is this: I have found hours in the day which I never knew existed. I have found space in my heart which I thought was already filled. I have met and befriended some of the most caring, loving people in the world.

And it all started when I understood that you can’t put a price tag on giving.

It’s just too valuable.

To learn more about Steve Gamlin’s speaking events, books, CD’s and more, please visit http://JigsawConsulting.org 

You may also find Steve’s latest motivational book “OH YEAH! (Another Quote Book)” available for Kindle at http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0057X6FEA
Leave a Reply

