Pit Bulls, Skydivers and Trampolines…Oh My!

This week’s blog opens with one of my favorite quotes:

“Life is inherently risky. There is only one big risk you should avoid at all costs, and that is the risk of doing nothing.” (Dennis Waitley) 

So, what does this have to do with the title of this blog? 

During a Chamber of Commerce lunchtime session last week, an insurance agent was discussing high-risk policy items. Two of the top ones are people who own pit bulls and those who have a trampoline out in the yard. Turns out the ‘average’ homeowners policy does not cover these items. Too risky.

Similarly, when I was being interviewed for both my life- and health-insurance policies, my agent asked: “You don’t engage in dangerous activities such as skydiving, DO YOU?”  I replied that it had been a few years, to which he responded: “But you don’t do it A-N-Y-M-O-R-E….RIGHT?”

No, I do not. (which is true, as it’s been over 5 years, and the last time was enough of an adventure to last a lifetime…all my own doing.)

In their defense, most pit bull owners will tell you that they make wonderful pets. It is the few incidents (occasionally due to misbehavior on the owners’ part) which set the bar so high on the danger meter.

Trampolines are fun! Again, the few people who try one too many flips, and get careless in their attempts to cheat gravity are responsible for (in my opinion) the majority of the injuries (some of the funnier ones can be found on YouTube…and I will laugh even harder if any of them are insurance agents).

Skydiving is definitely a thrill and, when practiced (and supervised) by professionals, it is a truly SAFE endeavor!    

                pit tramp skydive

My point is this: none of these things are inherently dangerous. It is how we exercise them, how much care we take, and how much safety knowledge we seek out that can make the difference.

Heck, pedestrians are struck by cars every day, but my agent never asked me if I’ve crossed the street lately.

People have been severely injured with weed-whackers, but the agent never asked me if I ever take a death-defying trip around the edge of my lawn.

Think of some of the actions you take on a regular basis.

Could some of them be considered ‘risky’ if you didn’t take certain precautions, or possess a certain level of knowledge?

Blessed are the risk-takers, for they make life really fun!

And the ones who take risks with half their brain tied behind their backs at least help create some interesting ‘warning’ labels! Have you blow-dried your hair in the tub lately? Me neither…but someone did it!

Please go out there this week and have some fun in your life.

Be careful. Be smart!  Be excited!  BE ALIVE!!

Sincerely,

Steve

P.S. I was going to try to arrange a photograph of a pit bull, wearing a parachute, on a trampoline…and send it to my insurance agent as a holiday card…but I don’t want my rates to go up. Insurance companies can be funny that way.

Leave a Reply

