Marshmallows and a Golf Cart…My Keys to Success!

Several weeks ago, I was very excited to sign a wonderful contract with a very successful company here in New Hampshire.  I have the honor of being part of an experienced team of speakers/experts for this company’s team as they head into 4th quarter and prepare for a butt-kickin’ 2013! The leader of this team is one of the most positive, pro-active people I’ve ever met when it comes to investing in education and motivation for her people.

So…how did I get to be the chosen one?

About 16 months ago, I was helping my marketing director with a charity golf event. Her company was the sponsor of one of the holes. Essentially, my job was to measure how far golfers could drive a marshmallow. *

As I arrived and was ushered to the golf cart which ultimately delivered me to the 7th hole, a smiling woman asked what I was doing with a gym bag overflowing with marshmallows. As I explained, she laughed. She was also sponsoring a hole that day, with a theme somewhat less messy than mine.

marshmallows

After she asked what I do for a living (as if I could make a career of marshmallow whacking), I told her I am a professional speaker. When she saw my name on my business card, she confirmed she’d heard of me and was interested in having me speak for her company.

Annnnnnd, here we are.

At the time of this writing, I have already had the great joy of being with her team twice, delivering a ‘real message for real people’, sharing the course of action we’ll be presenting over the next 6 weeks. The roster of events includes “Attitude + Action for a Lifetime of Traction”, followed by the Vision Board Experience event to benefit individuals AND the company as a whole (just imagine, a VISUAL mission statement!), and then an early December wrap-up session designed as the launching pad for all we have shared.

How did you meet and acquire YOUR best clients?

As much as I find tremendous value in networking events, blogs, podcasts, referrals, paid advertisements and social media…I will NEVER forget that, wherever I am, I have the ability to make a connection with someone in a meaningful way.

Marshmallows and a golf cart…who knew?!?

* The longest drive of the day was 144-feet, 6-inches!!

Leave a Reply

