The Toughest Blog I Ever Had to Write…

This has got to be the toughest time I’ve ever had, trying to write a blog.

I thought of delving into the archives, but couldn’t do so with a whole heart.

For me, there are no magic words to find meaning in the recent tragic events in Sandy Hook, Connecticut and Clackamas, Oregon.

As someone who makes his living being positive, and finding the best in the world, I’ll admit: I am struggling.

This message has no political overtones. Nor will I address gun control or mental illness.

It is all about the human spirit and how it will always survive thanks to outpourings of love and support from friends and strangers alike.

Judging by the updates I have observed on-line, the eyes and hearts of millions of people are focused on these two communities. Too many innocent lives lost, at a time of year typically devoted to giving.

What do I learn from this?

As positive as I try to be, I am a realist.

Some people are evil…pure evil. Whatever the cause, they are out there.

However they became that way, I cannot know or understand.

Why they need to destroy other lives before cowardly taking their own, I cannot fathom.

What I can say is this: in the aftermath of these events, I see reaction from people who reach out to those in pain. Whether it comes from across the street or halfway around the world, it is the purest form of love and caring that some will ever feel, or share.

In my opinion, there is no way to completely eradicate events like this.

As long as there are people, there will always be evil.

My mission is to identify and gather the most positive people I can. They are my insulation against the negative, and I am theirs.

As long as we continue to seek out the brightest lights in our own skies, we can give the world something beautiful to focus on.

We can hug. We can love. We can inspire. We can laugh. We can cry. We can mourn. We can bear witness to greatness. We can acknowledge heartbreak.

And we can do it…together.

If you are reading this message, please know that you are special to me. There is something good about you, which I appreciate.

This is a blog I wished I never had to write. Reading it back to myself a moment ago, I am glad I wrote it.

It sucks that it took a tragedy for it to come out.

It doesn’t rhyme.

It doesn’t have any laughs.

It just comes from my heart…and today, that’s all I’ve got.

Bless you all.

Please be extra-kind to each other.

The world needs it.

Leave a Reply

