To Become a GIVER, Just DELIVER!

Earlier this month, we celebrated Random Acts of Kindness Week. The RAOK organization is a phenomenal group which I adore. When I was younger, I was not much of a giver. I’ll admit it, no problem. The biggest reason why? I thought I’d have to donate massive sums of money, or tie myself down by committing a lot of my time…which could have been spent out having fun.

I was so wrong.

These days, I think it’s actually EASIER to be a giver than it is to not be one. There are so many opportunities EVERY day to be one!

Hold a door for someone. Make a convenience store clerk smile after a rude customer has ruined her day. Call a friend and reminisce about a favorite fun memory. Give up a really good parking space to someone who may need it more than you do.

The list goes on and on…endlessly!

From my personal development book “OH YEAH! (Another Quote Book)”:

“Wherever there is a human being, there is an opportunity for kindness.” (Seneca)

No offense to Seneca, but I will make one slight change by saying “wherever there is another living creature”.

After all, I love helping animals, too.

My sister recently made it possible for me to launch BeachBum Philanthropy, my little venture dedicated to helping others. Since February 1st, we have found a way to give, every day. Some days it involved money. Others days it simply involved the donation of an hour or two of my time. It even means that I have used my Social Media accounts to help promote a worthy cause.

Everything helps. I had to learn how to do it. You can too.

Here’s a question I’ve never asked anyone before: “Wanna get HIGH?”

Givers know what I mean. There’s such a thing as a “Helper’s High” which one can receive when being generous, especially ‘from the heart’.

You know you’re high if you experience excessive smiling, a warm heart, moist eyes and a general feeling that the rest of the day is going to be pretty darn good.

These are some of the best side effects I’ve heard in a long time (far better than the ones listed in those pharmaceutical ads)!

So here we are, kicking off a new week.

How can YOU give…even just once, between now and the end of the week?

I would LOVE it is you shared them with me.

I hope you understand: It’s not bragging, it’s INSPIRING!

Please send me an e-mail to let me know the cool things you’ve done: Steve@SteveGamlin.com

How HIGH can YOU get?

Leave a Reply

