The Magic’s in the Music 2 !!

As I approach my 20th anniversary as a professional DJ and emcee, I have been part of over 1300 celebrations. More than 1000 of those have been weddings.

According to my mom, music has been important to me since before I could walk. I would stand up and hang onto the edge of the counter and bob up and down to the beat of the hits of the late 60’s and early 70’s.

Now, at age 45, music is as important to me as it ever was.

My decade in radio (’92 – ’02) still makes me smile. Some of my best memories are the songs we played which got listeners to share what they loved most. I can even remember the opening song of an 8-song medley which accompanied a sky-blasting fireworks show in the Summer of 2001 (ELO’s version of “Roll Over Beethoven”).

During the Summer of 2007, I fell in love with my angel Tina. At the time, we were living 1300 miles apart and hadn’t seen each other in 21 years. An e-mail from Tina had triggered our reconnection. To this day, Michael Buble’s songs “Everything” and “Home” absolutely rock my world.

On Sunday afternoon, I got to DJ a wedding for a great couple in their late 40’s. Their music selections covered the classics as well as more recent hits. My favorite moment of the event was a pair of slow songs we used to determine the longest-married couple in attendance. When I reached “48 years or less”, there were still 2 couples left on the floor. It took just one more number, “50”, to find the winners (who received a beautiful bouquet from the bride and groom).

Last week, during a motivational speaking event, I asked attendees about their favorite music. “Wouldn’t it be great” I asked, “if you woke up every morning with that song greeting your ears?”

What an amazing way to start every day! To see so many people, finding so much joy in music, keeps me smiling every day.

What are YOUR favorites? What songs rock a smile on your face and in your heart?

What special memories of people, places and times are waiting for you in a cool piece of music?

Will you wait for it to happen at random on the radio, or will you intentionally hear the song today?

As Kiki Dee sang in the 70’s: “I’ve Got the Music in Me”.

Let it out, and light up your day!

Leave a Reply

