Two Scoops of Life-Changing Coolness!

Several years ago, I ran into an old friend from my radio days. Her name is Hillary. At that time, in the late 90’s, she was a teenaged intern who had such an amazing attitude and energy that she earned her own weekend airshift on our biggest station! These days, she has channeled that passion into her own business, an incredible place called The Inside Scoop in Bedford NH.

Those who know me best are aware of my desire to someday build a barn in my back yard to house my recording studio and creative space…the Inside Scoop used to BE one! Every time I walk in there, I breathe in the rich history of the large timbers and thick posts. All the wood has history, scars and notches where it has combined its strength with other lumber to keep the barn standing.

About a year ago, I got a message from someone I’d never met, who had heard my name in networking circles. He checked out my blogs, podcasts and website, then reached out to see how our paths might intertwine.

“Want to grab a cup of coffee?” was his question.

“Meet me at The Inside Scoop” was my answer.

Within 10 minutes of sitting down several days later, I knew that we had similar views and attitudes. Less than 2 months after that, I got to be part of a major event this person had assembled. We’ve stayed in touch and continued to support each other’s mission.

Last week I received a call from an old friend. He’s pretty remarkable, and we’ve shared some amazing conversations over the years. He wanted to reconnect to share what he’s up to these days, and how we might combine our energies.

“Meet me at The Inside Scoop” was my answer…of course.

When I arrived, I discovered he was already sitting at the same table I’d been at with the other person nearly a year ago.

For close to three hours, we chatted about everything we’ve got going on, spilling out all the incredible energy of our lives and missions, laughing like the little kids where were playing at the toy table.

The energy in that room was palpable.

I left that barn absolutely on fire.

Where is YOUR Inside Scoop?   Hillary Inside Scoop

Is there a place which makes you feel like you’re on top of the world, even if you’ve just begun your climb?

Do you spend enough time there breathing in the richness of possibility, sharing moments with people who can help guide you there?

Even now, on a rain-soaked Monday morning in my basement recording studio, I am smiling.

As I close my eyes, even for a moment, I am thinking of all the timbers in my life, each working together, with random notches that have been used over time to prop me up.

I look at my own life, with its various notches which, even for a limited time, have been used to prop others.

In a way, I have already built my barn.

You may have as well.

And when I need to add to mine, I know I can always visit The Inside Scoop to see just how much cooler my barn, and my life, can become.

See you there… I’ll be at the best seat in the house!

Leave a Reply

