The Top 6 Ways MY Funeral Will Rock!

The month of August is ‘What Will Your Legacy Be?’ month.

Whenever I talk about death, there are certain people who close their eyes and wave their arms like they’re shooing away evil spirits.

Since the day we were born, we’ve been getting closer to it, yet some people refuse to talk about it.

Want to cheat death?

Do enough in your lifetime to be remembered when you’re gone.

Make a difference. Stand out.

That doesn’t mean you have to donate millions of dollars to cancer research, or adopt half the starving children of the world (Hollywood can take care of that by itself).

You can make a difference by holding a door, giving up your seat on a bus, sharing a generous tip at a restaurant, raking leaves for a senior citizen, buying coffee or a sandwich for a homeless person…even just making someone laugh when they are sad.

How do YOU want to be remembered?

For me, it’s not all about big headlines or a parade.

I just hope people found this world to be a happier, sillier place for me having been here. I want to be that ‘real’ person who used motivation, humor and happiness to inspire others to have more good moments in their lives, follow their dreams and share more love.

And I am taking that mission to the grave with me, literally.

My funeral plans include:

  • pre-recorded messages which play when people kneel at my casket
  • a $50 gift for the first 3 people to walk through my wake with toilet paper stuck to their shoes
  • a donation box for the local food pantry
  • my favorite classic rock music, none of that sad crap
  • wearing jeans and my favorite Hawaiian shirt
  • my right hand propped up for high-fives

Morbid?

Not to me.

I want to leave this world the same way I walked through it: laughing, living my dreams and trying to be an example for others to do the same.

I hope you all enjoy this day, and this week, living it up as best you can.

Please be sure to wear a smile as often as you can. It’s a gift to yourself as much as it is for the rest of the world.

When you share yourself with the world, you truly can live forever…and that’s something pretty cool to me.

Live mas!!!

Leave a Reply

