“One Goddess, Two Bankers and a Cool Woman Named Elaine”

It sucks when you discover that your heroes are all too human, and that they suffer.

Monday was already a down day when I heard the news about Robin Williams last Monday.

But this is not an article about Robin Williams.

It is about me…and you…and connection.

Tina’s flight left at 6am that day, I was exhausted and hunkered in the recording studio writing Monday’s newsletter and half-heartedly working on several projects.

By midday Tuesday, I realized I hadn’t really had much contact with real people since I’d dropped Tina off at the airport 31 hours earlier.

I was missing ‘connection’…the kind you cannot find on-line no matter how many friends you’ve got on Facebook.

Before heading to a bridal event that afternoon, my agent asked me to meet him to grab some brochures and business cards.

“Meet me at Staples off exit 1”, I requested.

After retrieving the items from his car, I heard a voice behind me: “Steve, is that you?!?”

Moving toward me was a woman with her arms held out for a hug. She is one of the Goddesses (sales team) for Athena’s Home Novelties, one of my biggest Vision Board clients. Although we only spoke for several minutes, she showed me her Vision Board photo (tucked into her daily planner) and told me about the goals she has already achieved this year.

Big smile.

My next stop was at the bank up the street, where I needed to make a deposit for this month’s business loan payment.

As I left my car I saw Peter, whom I’ve known for years from my speaking events for his Chamber of Commerce.

“What are you doing all the way down here?” he asked.

“Putting money in your bank” I answered.

“We like that!” he said as he got into his car.

Another big smile.

Inside the bank, the poor teller was perplexed as my transaction repeatedly caused his computer to freeze up. After several apologies, I joked: “That’s okay, it’s probably shocked that money is actually going INTO my account.”

Big laughs on both sides of the counter.

Upon arrival at the bridal event, I unloaded my car and moved it to the lower lot. As I approached the door, I saw a basket and bag filled with supplies, belonging to another vendor.

As my arms were empty, I scooped them up and marched inside to locate their owner’s setup area.

“Oh my, aren’t you sweet!” came a little voice from a little lady. “I’ve been doing this for over 30 years, and I don’t think anyone has ever done that for me.”

My answer: “I was raised to always leave every situation a little better than I found it, and I was happy to help.”

Great big smiles.

At the end of the event, she sought me out to thank me again, asked my name (told me that hers is Elaine) and gave me a great big hug.

One more big smile on a day when, just hours earlier, I had felt sadly disconnected from the world and the magic of people.

Do YOU feel disconnected?

If so…get out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Get out to the store, the post office, the car wash, the coffee shop, the park, the bowling alley, the library…anywhere there are people.

CONNECTION. So important, and so simple in the grand scheme of things.

If you feel as though you are struggling, please talk to someone.

There is no shame in wanting to feel connected with people and not knowing how, or feeling lost.

I appreciate you all, I truly do.

It is my hope that these messages help you, even in some small way, feel connected on this path of positivity which we share.

You are all valuable and important to me, and I hope you feel that about yourselves as well.

Thank you for connecting with me here today.

Leave a Reply

