Does Your Digital World Savor Some 8-Track Flavor?

No matter how far technology has come, there are certain songs and bands that still sound best the way they did when I first fell in love with their music.

I grew up with The Beatles on vinyl, a Jimi Hendrix cassette and a Guns N’Roses CD.

Although I now own them all digitally, I still smile when I think of the crackles and pops of records, the slight hiss of cassettes and the (then) groundbreaking clear digital sound of CDs.

This week’s calendar includes the official “8-Track Tape Day” on the 15th.

Although I never owned one myself, I’ve got friends who have shared their own 8-track memories, always remembering the spot at which a particular song stopped when the player made a big ‘cha-chunk’ noise, reversed direction, and completed the song.

I miss the character of those old formats, as though the delivery system was an important part of the sound.

So many other parts of our lives have had technological upgrades as well.

How long has it been since you had to untangle a phone cord to reach the other side of your office?

Do you remember having to write and mail a proposal or contract, waiting DAYS for a signature?

Can you recall having to actually ‘meet’ someone before declaring you were ‘in a relationship’?

I’m a big fan of most new technologies, especially the ones which help me to NOT have to lift heavy things. I appreciate being able to send electronic messages instantly to close a deal, or to have a video conversation with someone halfway around the world.

But when it comes to building relationships, there is nothing better, in my opinion, than pressing the flesh and enjoying time with real people. There is a warmth to it, like the warmth of the music I used to feel as a needle danced through the grooves of my favorite albums.

What are your favorite ways to listen to music?

To complete your work tasks?

To enjoy your relationships?

Do you proudly walk your talk, old school, in any parts of your life because that’s the way (uh-huh uh-huh) you like it?

Leave a Reply

