Hey Baby…That Doesn’t Look Like Belize!

If only Mother Nature and Old Man Winter could stop ‘Stormicating’, we might catch a break.

During a 10-day stretch over the last couple weeks, at least 7 of them included shoveling, snowblowing, plowing…and getting sick. Between 3 yards and driveways, lack of sleep, and a charitable face-first run into an ice-cold ocean, my body finally gave out.

I’ve spent the past 5 days drowning in cold meds, trying to empty out my lungs and get myself back into shape to start all over again.

I don’t like being sick. I’m not good at it.

What sucked the most for me, although it was the right decision to make, was the last-minute postponing of our vacation.

It was Tina’s idea to get away, mid-winter, for a soul-recharging cruise through the Caribbean.

It was also her idea to reschedule it because she didn’t want me to suffer through flights feeling as bad as I did.

She is awesome.

So instead of the warm Caribbean with our balcony views of Mexico and Belize, we get the all-too-familiar views of the snowbanks which seem to grow taller daily here in Goffstown NH.

I felt bad, but it was yet another lesson to be learned.

Life happens.

It could be much worse.

Even as I ran the snowblower around the yard on rubbery legs over the weekend, I realized I am luckier than most.

I have a snowblower…and I have two good legs which, when not compromised by mixing to many cold meds, work just fine.

I also have the woman of my dreams who kept track of all the times to ingest what seemed like an endless array of meds.

My usual routine is ‘throw a bunch of them in at random and see what happens’.

It’s not always effective for cold relief, but has definitely enhanced my listening of Pink Floyd and Jimi Hendrix.

So here I sit, on a snowy Monday morning in Goffstown NH, thousands of miles from the cruise ship that was supposed to hauling my wheezing carcass around the Caribbean.

How do I feel?

Grateful.

Colds pass, cruises get re-booked, snow melts…and I am filled with gratitude for all the blessings I have in this life.

Does that mean we never feel disappointed?

Not at all.

It all comes down to where we focus.

Right now, mine is not directed thousands of miles away in paradise…it is looking into the living room to the beautiful woman sitting on the couch working on her laptop.

She’ll roll her eyes when she realized I am looking at her and smiling.

Paradise is where you find it, and mine is right here at home.

You have something to be grateful for…probably a number of things.

Please remind yourself of them daily, so you don’t miss them.

Leave a Reply

