Are You and Your Team CLICKin’ Butt in 2016?

It happened almost instantly.

Even before I arrived home at midnight last Wednesday, I’d already been tagged more times that the slowest-running kid in gym class.

The event was my FOURTH ANNUAL trek to Woonsocket, Rhode Island for the January kickoff meeting at Athena’s Home Novelties, sharing my “Engaging Your WHY / Vision Board Success” presentation.

I love this company.

There is something pretty amazing about them.

In 2012, Gallup did a study on ‘engagement in the workplace’ gathering data from 142 countries*.

Please remember these numbers: 13-63-24.

No, these are not the body measurements of an oddly-shaped human.

They are statistics, and they scare me…a lot.

Here’s why, in basic terms:

13% of workers were found to be ‘psychologically committed to their jobs and likely to be making positive contributions to their organizations’.

63% are ‘not engaged, meaning they lack motivation and are less likely to invest discretionary effort in organizational goals or outcomes’.

24% are actively disengaged,” indicating they are unhappy and unproductive at work and liable to spread negativity to coworkers.

Do these numbers scare YOU…or do they sound familiar?

Essentially, there are almost TWICE as many people in the average workplace who are ACTIVELY CREATING NEGATIVITY as there are being ACTIVELY POSITIVE.

That’s the part that scares the heck out of me.

The middle 63% are essentially trading their time for a paycheck which, to me, is neither good nor bad.

I bet if I asked my speaking client audiences where they see themselves, only a few would admit to being part of that 24%…and those are the people who take great pride in being so negative. I have witnessed people who practically brag about being grumpy, rationalizing that they are ‘keeping it real’.

In my opinion, you can ‘keep it real’ without intentionally creating a Flint Michigan wellspring of foulness.

Why do I love my friends at Athena’s Home Novelties?

Because I believe they make those results do a headstand.

I bet there are easily at least twice as many ENGAGED team members as DISENGAGED.

Rarely, and I mean RARELY…do I encounter a company like this.

At every level, straight from the top with SHE-E-O Jennifer Jolicouer, there is joy, passion, encouragement, caring and endlessly awesome cheerleading.

One of the centerpiece stories of my live presentations is the comparison of business and life goals to an old wooden roller coaster.

Quick question to you, the reader: “Have you ever set a goal which scared the heck out of you the next day…when you realize you said it out loud in front others?

(I am pausing as I raise both of MY hands)

Goals SHOULD be big. They should challenge us to go beyond our current skill set.

I encourage my clients to imagine their goals (as a company and individuals which strengthens BOTH) at the top of the first hill of a roller coaster.

Step 1: Gather the BEST people available for your ride (who will enjoy it and be excited with ZERO complaining about how scary it is, or how sick they are going to get).

Step 2: Make sure you consistently, with intention, take small steps toward your goal EVERY day.

Step 3: When you achieve it, celebrate and enjoy the rewards…then get back on the ride for your next goal.

As I draw each year’s Vision Board event to a close, I remind the Athena’s team members (referred to as Goddesses and Adoni) to tag me on social media EVERY time they accomplish one of their goals, and include the word ‘CLICK’.

Rarely does one otherwise insignificant 5-letter word (only worth about 13 points in Scrabble) bring me so much joy. Here is a piece I created for one of the Goddesses based upon a goals she set for her self, which includes the phrase ‘CLICK baby CLICK’, created by my dear friend (and marketing queen) Alyson Bruu.

CLICKINGMyWayto200Ksmall

In the 5 days since this year’s Vision Board event, I have already been tagged and CLICKed to share:

  • A Goddess who celebrated her first paycheck from the company, then helped two other Goddesses host THEIR parties!
  • A Goddess who bought the new car she needed to operate her business, knowing she will work hard enough to pay for it!
  • Words shared to their Vision Boards based upon my stories at the event!
  • A Goddess who created an AMAZING visual to ‘create’ her goal of surprising her kids with a Disney vacation for Christmas.

And the CLICKs just keep on coming.

Is YOUR work team rocking like the Goddesses?

Do you celebrate the small achievements that build up Success Muscles and momentum?

Do your ‘leaders’ encourage their team members to work together, sharing the greatest qualities of the Goddesses, to keep that roller coaster CLICKing toward the top of that first hill?

I could not be more proud of my friends at Athena’s, and I am honored that I am invited to be with them year after year, asking them to define and visualize the top of that first hill.

Is your team enjoying a ride like this, staying actively engaged to create success?

The roller coaster is a pretty cool ride…and I know my Goddess friends are already CLICKin’ butt for 2016!

It’s never too late to get on the ride.

I’m here if you need me.

Keep your arms and legs inside the ride…and get ready to rock.

* http://www.gallup.com/poll/165269/worldwide-employees-engaged-work.aspx

Leave a Reply

