Tripped Up by Time Zones…AGAIN!

When will I learn?

West is earlier.

East is later.

Spring forward.

Fall back.

30 days has September…

So many things to remember, how did I screw it up…again?

It’s been in my schedule for 2 weeks.

Sheryl Jones, the awesomely-energized host of the “Love of Heart Movement” radio show, could not have been more clear with her instructions.

“Please call (xxx)xxx-xxxx at 6:55 Central Time for our interview.”

So…why did I set my alarm for 4:45am, speed through a shower and change of clothes, skip breakfast and blast my way through the shadowy back roads to my recording studio?

Because my brain fell down while trying to spring BACK.

When I called her studio line at precisely the right (in my mind, anyway) time, I was greeted with an automated female voice letting me know that the show would happening in 2 hours and 6 minutes.

Not believing her the first time, I called right back.

2 hours and 5 minutes.

I didn’t need to call back a third time.

Even before the sun fully rose over the horizon here in southern New Hampshire, the light dawned on my clouded brain.

“Duh, Steve…you goober-head.”

And that’s where the punishment ended…this time.

In the old days, this misstep would have ruined the whole day as I embarrassingly shared “The Adventures of Hurricane Dumb-Ass, Category 5” with everyone who crossed my path.

I made a mistake, certainly not the first (or last) one, but what I did with it actually made my day.  SteveRadio

Having two hours to kill, and at this point being wide awake, I threw myself into the pile on my desk, ultimately adding these items to my DONE List:

* edited a recording for Make-A-Wish NH (a very cool Wish Kid sharing her story)

* shot a humorous video testimonial for two friends who launched a new program today

* learned how to optimize my YouTube Channel more effectively

By the time the interview DID happen (at 8am Eastern time, like it was supposed to), my energy was through the roof and my effortlessly energetic conversation with Sheryl kept me smiling from start to finish.

So, what was YOUR last screw-up?

Did the punishment fit the crime?

What GOOD came from it?

If nothing, what did you at least learn from it?

Here’s to you and me, inspired by an Irish Blessing:

“May the road rise up to meet you.

May the wind be always at your back.

May the sun shine warm upon your face;

the rains fall soft upon your fields…

…and may you remember what time you were supposed to be driving down that road!

Leave a Reply

